25. Words to live by.

“Happiness comes from the intersection of what you love, what you’re good at, and what the world needs.”

I don’t know where or when I first read those words, but they held true. Everything I aspire to be in life is exemplified by them. In an earlier post I described what I wanted out of my future. This quote defines it.

I truly love journalism and everything about it – I love writing and I love people and I love being creative. I love the people in the business and I love the endless possibilities and the huge audiences you have the potential to reach with your work.

I also love the environment and am passionate about making a difference. With a journalism skill set and environmental studies knowledge, I feel as though I have the tools to show people my passion and educate them about the world around them.

I’d like to think I’m good at what I do, but obviously that is a work in progress. That is why I am here at the wonderful U of O learning and experiencing and taking in everything that I can. There is always room for improvement.

And finally… the world needs people who want to make a difference. It needs people who have the tools and the drive and the passion to do so. I know that I can do it, and I can’t wait to see what my future holds.

Leave a Reply

