17. Now that’s clever.

Humor is hard to pull off in commercials. People have such a wide range of humor and their understanding varies immensely. Funny ads are not only hard to pull off, but they are extremely risky – however, if executed properly, they can do wonders.

Take Direct TV for example:

I, for one, think this series of commercials is brilliant. I’m not exactly their target audience but I will be in several years when I’m on my own and paying for my own TV services. We’ve always been a Comcast family but after these commercials, I just might check out Direct TV. They are funny, well-executed, simple and easy to understand, and they keep your attention. What more could you want from an ad?

Leave a Reply

